PATIENT REVIEWS

Reviews for LASIK Services Near Bloomington, MN

Patient Feedback

Having clear vision allows people of all ages to enjoy and experience life in special ways. When it comes to the health of your eyes, you should put your trust in only the best. At Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, MN, we take the utmost care and compassion to enhance the quality of your vision and overall wellness. Dr. Ralph Chu and his team perform a number of comprehensive services to address a wide range of concerns, from common to complex. Below, we have compiled a list of reviews from patients just like you who trust our team with the health of their eyes.

Filter69 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from N.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2022

Where to even begin. I had been eagerly anticipating laser vision correction for at least 5 years but life continued to get in the way. I finally was in a position to move forward and found Dr. Chu and his practice upon moving to MN. I honestly do not have the words to express how thoroughly satisfied I am and continue to be with the entire experience. From the initial evaluation to the expert guidance, seamless follow up appointments, excellent communication, wonderful and friendly staff, truly knowledgeable physicians and providers who take the time to answer your questions, I could not be more pleased. I had initially wanted to have SMILE performed but, through the counsel of Drs. Heckman and Chu, underwent ASA with phenomenal results (and the vision continues to sharpen daily which is such an amazing thing to experience). Dr. Chu was able to take my vision from 20/500 (mostly from extremely severe astigmatism with coincident myopia) to 20/20. Most importantly, I was seeing 20/30 in my right eye the day following surgery and 20/20 by the 3-day follow up. At the risk of making this review too lengthy, I have to pay my respect not only to Dr. Chu's practice but to all the individuals who work there. From Dr. Hassan to Dr. Hampton, surgical intake nurses and all the techs, they legitimately made me feel like family. More than that, the work performed at this facility is second to none. I have already referred several colleagues for vision correction at Chu Vision. To top it off, Dr. Chu is honestly a stand up guy with some pretty amazing extracurriculars :) To anyone I may have missed, THANK YOU! Genuinely changing lives for the better. TL;DR - If you care about your eyes and want high-quality, complete care, look no further than Chu Vision. You will not be disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 03, 2022

Can't speak highly enough about the results and experience I had with Dr. Chu and his team. After a Lasik procedure I have 20/20 vision. I was obviously a little concerned about having someone mess around with my eyeball with a laser... but the whole team at Chu Vision made me feel comfortable with the procedure and recovery and ensured I felt supported at every step. The procedure was a breeze - Dr. Chu has a great bedside manner and made me feel comfortable I was in good hands. Recovery was straightforward and it's now a full month that I've had great vision and not had to worry about corrective lenses. If you're considering refractive surgery with Chu, do it. My only regret is that I didn't do this sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 20, 2022

From the day I walked in for my consult to the day after surgery and my first post-op, Chu Vision provided nothing short of a stellar experience. After 30 years of my life spent wearing glasses and 27 years with contacts, my vision stabilized and I was referred to Chu Vision. LASIK has been something I've wanted for many years but will be the first to admit my gut was wrenching with anxiety the entire month leading to the procedure after weighing the pros and cons of eye surgery. Browsing the internet and learning about side effects: glares, halos, starbursts...didn't exactly help my anxiety. Don't get me wrong, without glasses or contacts, I could barely make out the big E in the eye doctor's office. If anyone broke into my house, if a contact fell out while swimming, if something happened to my contacts/glasses on vacation...I'd be screwed. I wanted to be free. My 1:1 prior to surgery with Dr. Chu definitely put me at ease. The entire staff at Chu Vision is extraordinary...something you wish for at any service-related business. They calmed my nerves, walked through every step, answered all my questions, advised me how to prepare and what to truly expect afterward. The day of surgery was quick and absolutely painless...no pain at all, and my entire time at the office was 45 minutes. The actual procedure was less than 10 minutes. Dr. Chu provided an amazing surgery and turned my -6.75 prescription WITH ASTIGMATISM to 0!!!! The day after surgery for my post-op, I could easily see 20/20, and I know they don't guarantee better than 20/20, but I was able to see 20/15 the day after surgery, with my own eyes...truly amazing!!!! TO THIS DAY I CATCH MYSELF IN AMAZEMENT BECAUSE I KNOW WHAT IT WAS LIKE TO NOT HAVE THIS VISION WITH MY OWN EYES. I'm now 4.5 weeks out from when I had surgery and the post-op procedures and drops are cake. I have not had ANY glares, halos, starbursts, nothing. I can see clearly at night and during the day. "Whereas once I was blind, now I see." Thank you so much Dr. Chu, your team, and the experience you have built. I can't put into words how you have changed my life. Thank you so much. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 15, 2022

Dr. Chu and his team made everything so easy! The my LASIK procedure was so quick I could not believe it! Dr Chu was great about explaining everything and answering my questions. He and his team made me feel at ease during my procedure. I would definitely recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 15, 2022

The care I received for my eye surgery was top notch! I would recommend Dr. Chu and his team to anyone looking to get LASIK. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 02, 2022

I am so happy to finally be rid of contacts/glasses! Dr Chu was great! I was nervous to undergo Lasik but now I wish I had done it sooner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 25, 2022

I am extremely satisfied and happy with my LASIK procedure at Chu Vision. Their entire staff (receptionists, technicians, nurses and doctors) are friendly and professional. Dr. Chu and Dr. Jessica Heckman were absolutely top notch! I wore wearing glasses to correct my farsightedness for close to 30 years. After my LASIK procedure, I'm now seeing 20/20 or better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 15, 2022

Amazing experience!! I was very nervous to get LASIK, but Dr. Chu and his team made the whole experience wonderful. The testing was thorough and they have lots of resources to help you understand your options. They make surgery day so exciting- you even get pictures taken! During surgery, Dr. Chu was great at talking me through the entire process and making me feel comfortable. You get a warm blanket and stuffed animal to hold- they thought of everything! The next day, I had 20/20 vision! So amazing. I highly recommend!! I wouldn’t go anywhere else in the Twin Cities! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 17, 2022

Very experienced staff and smooth process. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly. Dr. Chu is the most personable surgeon I've met. 2 days out from Lasix and feeling great. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2022

All the staff were amazing and so caring throughout the all procedure! Dr. Chu makes you feel like you are part of the family and comfortable during the lasik process and talked through the whole thing. Would recommend this place to everyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K...  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2022

The staff are very welcoming and kind. Dr. Chu explained everything very well, included all necessary details, answered all questions and was very reassuring. My Lasik surgery was excellent here. Very happy! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 04, 2022

Just got lasik on both my eyes yesterday and now I can see so clearly!! Before lasik I had glasses ever since I was 4-5 yrs old, contacts never worked for me it was always uncomfortable for me. There’s a little blur and fuzz right now but that’s completely normal. Dr. Chu and everyone else in this institute were so helpful and kind, they really calmed my nerves down a lot. I would highly recommend coming here if you’re thinking about getting lasik in MN! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 31, 2022

Lasik was not something that i ever thought would be an option as it never was for my astigmatism and far sighted vision issues. New technology made something i never thought possible a possibility. This was the easiest thing ever. From what i expected was that it was suppose to be a slow progression and will continue to improve over next 6 weeks. I am already mind blown by how it has gone and how well I see. No glasses and I see better than I ever did with glasses...lol. Best Doctor, team, and experience. I HIGHLY Recommend everyone using Chu Vision Institute for all ete care needs. You will not regret it. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 18, 2022

Dr Chu performed Lasik surgery on both my eyes 20 years ago. He is very professional. No complications or scaring. My vision is still teriffic and no glasses required. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 11, 2021

My vision correction is experience at the Chu Vision Institute couldn’t have been better. Though their pre screen process Dr. Chu and his staff take extreme care to ensure you and your eyes are a good fit for laser correction surgery. Once it is was determined that LASIK was the best option for me, Dr. Chu’s awesome staff was on point getting me ready for my procedure. Dr. Chu even did a video call with me a couple of days before the procedure to answer any additional questions I had and to describe the procedure itself. The day after my LASIK procedure I was seeing 20/15 in both eyes !! The only regret I have is that I waited so long to get my eyes fixed. The Chu Vision Institute gave me my vision back and I am super grateful! Thank you all for taking such good care of me and my eyes. Best, Todd- More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 21, 2021

Dr. Chu was absolutely wonderful explaining every step of my lasik procedure. He was fantastic in answering all of my questions before, during and after the procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 02, 2021

I never write reviews, but I have to share my amazing experience at Chu Vision. Everything was smooth and efficient from start to finish. I had my LASIK consultation on a Friday and was scheduled for surgery the following Wednesday! Dr. Chu and all the staff were incredibly kind and informative - I always knew what was happening every step of the way. I can’t believe I had 20/20 vision and was able to drive and go to work the day after surgery! After waiting years for my vision to stabilize so I could pursue LASIK, I’m ecstatic that I finally took the plunge and chose Chu Vision to do so! More

5.0
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 24, 2021

Dr. Chu has created an environment for his employees to thrive. By continually being a role model and exercising positive word choice, it is evident that he and his staff are genuinely excited and happy for the outcomes of their patients. I have been in eye care for 15 years and would be honored to be a team member in an office like Chu Vision. I could not recommend a better institution to have lasik at- in fact, I have told multiple patients of mine that I would not go anywhere else and would not trust anyone but Dr. Chu with my eyes. Thank you! More

5.0
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 14, 2021

I came in for a Lasik consultation and Chu Vision is a well-oiled machine! Very organized and have the process of the exam and consultation down to a T. Everyone I encountered was very friendly! From the young man who checked me in at my vehicle, the exam and all the way to the end when I met with Amy Ray about scheduling and financing for Lasik. Love it and can't wait to put my eyes in your hands and get Lasik (spoiler...I'm an ideal candidate and will for sure be going to Chu Vision Institute) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 07, 2021

DISSAPOINTED  but GRATEFUL FOR HONESTYI went in for a consultation and was told I should wait a couple more years before having corrective surgery because there are some procedures/products on the horizon that would be a good fit for me if I just wait.  Way to go Chu Vision!  They are in this for the long haul and want happy customers!!  I’ll be back when the time is right!!! More

5.0
Review from L.F.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jun 15, 2021

I visited Chu Vision for a consultation for Lasik. My experience was wonderful. I've never had such a thorough examination of my eyes. They were very clear in their explanation of the tests and procedures. I especially appreciated their honesty informing me that I was not a candidate for Lasik nor the lens replacement surgery at this time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 04, 2021

Today after years of waiting to get LASIK I took the leap. Terrified as I was, all of the wonderful staff was amazing and kind. Dr. Chu talked me through the whole procedure, which is honestly an outstanding experience. I could not recommend Chu Vision Institute any higher! Perfect 10 :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 26, 2021

I had LASIK at Chu Vision last week and couldn’t recommend them highly enough. They provided a great consultation and advised on the best procedure for my eyes. Every detail (large and small) was planned for, and the whole process was very smooth. Best investment I’ve ever made! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 11, 2021

I had LASIK performed by Dr. Chu and the entire experience was wonderful. All of the staff members were extremely nice and helpful - from the check in person who coordinated my visit to the tech who explained what all of the tests were and why they were needed during my evaluation appointment. Dr. Chu personally has a web call with you a few days before your surgery to ensure you do not have any other questions and are still comfortable with moving forward. The day of the surgery, Dr. Chu checks in with you right before you enter the laser room, performs the surgery himself, and then follows up immediately after by looking at your eyes to ensure everything went well. Chu Institute isn't the cheapest LASIK option, but it is clear why they are viewed as a leader in this field throughout the nation. From the knowledge and professionalism of the staff, to the attention that is received from Dr. Chu himself, to the best and latest technology to ensure the optimal results for your vision, they are worth the little extra. I personally wouldn't want my procedure done through a Groupon on a 10 year old laser system - your eyes are worth more than that. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 12, 2021

I cannot say enough about how great Chu Vision is! I got my LASIK done with them a couple weeks back and they have been so friendly and informative the entire way! My life is changed for the better since having my procedure. Also, if I have a question even now, everyone there still responds to my questions with a smile and professionalism. If I could give them a higher review I would! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 11, 2021

I cannot say enough! I got LASIK through Chu Vision and everyone was informative and friendly throughout the entire process. They still answer every question with a smile! 11 out of 10 experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 20, 2020

Bare with my lengthy review but if you’re like me, I wanted to know what others true thoughts were and I scoured as many reviews as possible to make sure I was making the best decision for me and my eyes. I am SO, SO thankful for Dr. Chu and Dr. Heckman’s expertise and honesty. I decided it was time to get Lasik and went in for my consultation. From check-in to my latest follow up, everyone at the Chu Vision Institute was friendly, warm, and helpful. Due to some past corneal scarring, Dr. Chu recommended that I get Lasik on one eye and PRK (ASA) on the other. I was extremely nervous about PRK because of the slightly longer recovery time and I really just wanted to wake up and have 20/20 vision like my friends who have had Lasik. The day of my procedure, they made sure I had all my questions and concerns answered before they let me in to have my surgery. That was extremely comforting to me and Dr. Heckman explained why PRK was recommended over Lasik. Simply put, I wouldn’t have had a good outcome if Dr. Chu had performed Lasik on both eyes. Both procedures went well and Dr. Chu confirmed his right decision during the procedure which took all of maybe 10 minutes for both eyes. As instructed, I went home and rested and could literally see 20/20 the next day with my Lasik eye. The PRK eye takes a little longer to heal but can already see better! (I was worried my blurry eye would affect my vision, but it did not). Recovery has been great and will continue to get better in the next few weeks. Now my husband wants to get his eyes done. Chu Vision Institute has exceeded my expectations and I am very happy with my results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 07, 2020

Exceptional. I felt like family as soon as I walked through the front door. Staff was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and my LASIK procedure went flawlessly. Like most folks, I did extensive research for months before my consult (word of mouth and online) I highly recommend Chu Vision for your procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 02, 2020

I had LASIK done on May 28th. It's now June 2nd and I couldn't be happier with my vision. Dr Chu and staff are fabulous! I was so nervous. Dr Chu has such a calming voice and he told me everything he was going to do before he did it. I really appreciate that. I wore a Chicago Cubs (my favorite baseball team) mask to my appointment and procedure and after Dr Chu asked to take a picture because he's a Cubs fan. :) I couldn't have had a better experience! Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2020

Exceptional. I felt like family as soon as I walked through the front door. Staff was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and my LASIK procedure went flawlessly. Like most folks, I did extensive research for months before my consult (word of mouth and online) I highly recommend Chu Vision for your procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 03, 2020

Exceptional. I felt like family as soon as I walked through the front door. Staff was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and my LASIK procedure went flawlessly. Like most folks, I did extensive research for months before my consult (word of mouth and online) I highly recommend Chu Vision for your procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2019

Very professional, qualified, and friendly staff. I received LASIK surgery. Dr. Chu is accomplished and executes his craft with precision and timeliness. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 19, 2019

I have never met such a personable team before. Dr. Chu and his staff made me feel super comfortable with my decision to perform LASIK. Highly worth it. I can’t recommend them enough! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2019

I had LASIK at Chu Vision and my experience was amazing. Everyone made me feel comfortable and they were very informative on the process. I am so excited to be seeing 20/20 and would definitely recommend LASIK at Chu Vision to anyone!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2019

Very professional, qualified, and friendly staff. I received LASIK surgery. Dr. Chu is accomplished and executes his craft with precision and timeliness. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 19, 2019

I’d been contemplating LASIK for many years, and debated doing it in fear that correcting my nearsightedness would worsen the ability of my close up vision. My hope was to be glasses and contacts free. With the procedure for mono vision, I was corrected for near and far vision impairment. No need for readers, or glasses/contacts for distance! I went from 20/400 vision to 20/20 in a procedure that lasted less than a few minutes! Thank you Dr. Chu!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

I would highly recommend Chu Vision Institute, for either yearly eye exams or eye surgery. The staff are very welcoming and comforting and Dr. Chu did an amazing job with my Lasik. I now have 20/20 vision with no side effects and could not be happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

I had a great experience at Chu Vision. My husband got lasik there about 4 years ago and had a great experience. So I followed suit and decided to get lasik this year. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful and friendly. Dr. Chu was very thorough in explaining the process to me and made sure I felt comfortable throughout. The surgery was completely pain free and within hours I could see 20/20. I had some concerns over the weekend, which ended up being just dryness, and was quickly contacted and brought in by the on call dr to ensure everything was as it should be. I have had only positive experiences with the Chu Vision Institute and would highly recommend!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

It's the day after my lasik procedure and my post-op checkup revealed I'm already seeing 20/20 less than 24 hours after my procedure. The doctors and staff are friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable. Comfortable experience all around and worth every cent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

Just had my LASIK surgery here. I cannot say enough positive things about my entire experience at Chu Vision Institute! All of the nurses and staff are so kind and welcoming. They made me feel enguinely cared for. Dr. Chu is awesome as well. I am extremely impressed with my care and my 20/20 vision in less than 24 hours of my surgery. I will be recommending all of my family and friends here! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 08, 2019

I just got LASIK surgery this afternoon and I am already astounded by the results. Dr. Chu is the best in the business. His professionalism and caring demeanor shine above the rest and I received A+ service from he and his team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

Excellent. I had Lasik on both eyes and everything was wonderful from the initial consultation to the follow up exams. Very friendly and caring staff, clean an modern facility, and free espresso/latte in the waiting room :) Dr. Chu is professional and kind, I trusted him completely with my procedure. Would recommend to anyone for any eye conditions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

Best decision I ever made! Dr. Chu is the best for lasik! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

Everyone I worked with at Chu Vision to get LASIK was fantastic! They explain everything you need to know so thoroughly and go above and beyond to get you the treatment best for you. Dr. Chu was friendly, easy to talk with and helped keep me calm during the whole procedure which I was very nervous about. I couldn't have asked for a better care team! I HIGHLY recommend Chu Vision Institute! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

The whole process at Chu Vision was seemless and super friendly. I had LASIK and from the checkin desk to all of the doctors to all the other team members was fantastic. I wouldn’t trust anyone else but Dr.Chu and his team with any type of eye surgery. Thanks everyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

I was always greeted with cheerful and helpful staff. My questions were answered and the doctors were really great at listening to my concerns and explaining the process of Lasik to me. Amazing experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

I had the LASIK procedure done here and am glad I finally concurred my fear and did it. The staff and Dr Chu are all fantastic. I am seeing clearly without glasses or contacts! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 11, 2018

Cannot say enough positive things about Chu Vision Institute!! Dr. Chu is awesome and made me feel so comfortable the entire way through my lasik procedure! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 09, 2018

I first had LASIK surgery done by Dr. Chu in 1999. He has since done several other surgeries on my eyes. Without hesitation I would recommend his clinic to anyone needing attention to their eyes. The staff is skilled, professional and puts you at ease. The practices and technologies are state of the art (from what I read) and I have had nothing but excellent results. I am a very happy client and would urge others to check with Chu Vision first when considering anything to do with their eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 09, 2018

I first had LASIK surgery done by Dr. Chu in 1999. He has since done several other surgeries on my eyes. Without hesitation I would recommend his clinic to anyone needing attention to their eyes. The staff… More is skilled, professional and puts you at ease. The practices and technologies are state of the art (from what I read) and I have had nothing but excellent results. I am a very happy client and would urge others to check with Chu Vision first when considering anything to do with their eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 09, 2018

I first had LASIK surgery done by Dr. Chu in 1999. He has since done several other surgeries on my eyes. Without hesitation I would recommend his clinic to anyone needing attention to their eyes. The staff is skilled, professional and puts you at ease. The practices and technologies are state of the art (from what I read) and I have had nothing but excellent results. I am a very happy client and would urge others to check with Chu Vision first when considering anything to do with their eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 25, 2017

From day one, Dr Chu and his experienced world class professional staff have been amazing, beyond my expectations. I continue to feel they have my best interest in mind and they care so much about their patients. I was referred to Chu Vision Institute by my fiancé's brother who was very pleased with his lasik procedure. He had told me that Dr Chu is the best of the best and in fact that night I first heard of him, I had seen him on the Nightly News. When you walk into the off...ice it becomes very apparent the level of experience at his office by all the awards, certifications and media/articles he's been featured in. I came in last year for my initial consult not knowing what to expect. They did a thorough job of examining my eyes and consulting me afterwards - whether I'd be a good candidate, the different options, the risks and their recommendation - Modern PRK or ASA to treat my myopia and astigmatism. I planned the following year to get the procedure done and since it was more than 6 months from my original measurements they had me come in again to confirm they had everything correct and my vision was consistent which to me was very impressive. The day of my first procedure I felt educated on the process and although anytime you go into surgery you can't help but feel nervous, the nurses and other doctors in the room made me comfortable. Dr Chu was right there coaching me through the whole procedure and it was so surprisingly easy. The post op service is amazing too! A nurse is available 24/7 to answer any concerns or questions you may have. Luckily I didn't need to call during odd hours but they were very friendly with my "is this normal?" post op questions and there were many because that's just the kind of person I am! Now, I can see without glasses or contacts and my life is changed! Thank you Chu Vision Institute for everything. I will continue to sing your praise! Lastly, I will certainly become a donator to your foundation as well! You guys do great work and I love that you give back as well! You truly are changing the lives for many people around the world! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 25, 2017

From day one, Dr Chu and his experienced world class professional staff have been amazing, beyond my expectations. I continue to feel they have my best interest in mind and they care so much about their… More patients. I was referred to Chu Vision Institute by my fiancé's brother who was very pleased with his lasik procedure. He had told me that Dr Chu is the best of the best and in fact that night I first heard of him, I had seen him on the Nightly News. When you walk into the office it becomes very apparent the level of experience at his office by all the awards, certifications and media/articles he's been featured in. I came in last year for my initial consult not knowing what to expect. They… More More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 25, 2017

From day one, Dr Chu and his experienced world class professional staff have been amazing, beyond my expectations. I continue to feel they have my best interest in mind and they care so much about their patients. I was referred to Chu Vision Institute by my fiancé's brother who was very pleased with his lasik procedure. He had told me that Dr Chu is the best of the best and in fact that night I first heard of him, I had seen him on the Nightly News. When you walk into the office it becomes very apparent the level of experience at his office by all the awards, certifications and media/articles he's been featured in. I came in last year for my initial consult not knowing what to expect. They… More More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 25, 2017

From day one, Dr Chu and his experienced world class professional staff have been amazing, beyond my expectations. I continue to feel they have my best interest in mind and they care so much about their patients. I was referred to Chu Vision Institute by my fiancé's brother who was very pleased with his lasik procedure. He had told me that Dr Chu is the best of the best and in fact that night I first heard of him, I had seen him on the Nightly News. When you walk into the office it becomes very apparent the level of experience at his office by all the awards, certifications and media/articles he's been featured in. I came in last year for my initial consult not knowing what to expect. They did a thorough job of examining my eyes and consulting me afterwards - whether I'd be a good candidate, the different options, the risks and their recommendation - Modern PRK or ASA to treat my myopia and astigmatism. I planned the following year to get the procedure done and since it was more than 6 months from my original measurements they had me come in again to confirm they had everything correct and my vision was consistent which to me was very impressive. The day of my first procedure I felt educated on the process and although anytime you go into surgery you can't help but feel nervous, the nurses and other doctors in the room made me comfortable. Dr Chu was right there coaching me through the whole procedure and it was so surprisingly easy. The post op service is amazing too! A nurse is available 24/7 to answer any concerns or questions you may have. Luckily I didn't need to call during odd hours but they were very friendly with my "is this normal?" post op questions and there were many because that's just the kind of person I am! Now, I can see without glasses or contacts and my life is changed! Thank you Chu Vision Institute for everything. I will continue to sing your praise!</p> Lastly, I will certainly become a donator to your foundation as well! You guys do great work and I love that you give back as well! You truly are changing the lives for many people around the world! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 27, 2017

When I made the move to Minnesota (2015) after living in Wisconsin for 60 plus years, I found it to be a somewhat daunting task to find new medical providers. Then I found the Dr. Chu Vision Institute. I was ecstatic as Dr. Chu had performed my lasik eye surgery in Eau Claire, Wisconsin back in 1998! Finding his eye care facility and the caring staff associated with it here was amazing! Both my husband and I now receive eye care from the staff there and are so pleased with the time taken to answer questions and perform detailed extensive eye exams. Highly recommend this medical facility! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2017

I had the Smile technique (lasik) done almost 2 weeks ago and am so happy I did. I have been very impressed with the care I have received and have the utmost respect for Dr. Chu. I can't imagine going anywhere else. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to have a fantastic lasik experience. I really felt like their only patient. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from N.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 13, 2017

Overall, at 6 months post-op. First, the staff is amazing and always had my best interests at heart. For my original consultation, I was advised about my lens replacement. I was also told that maybe 10% of patients need further enhancements following the initial procedures. I wished they would have told me I was most likely the in that 10% since I was so near sighted. Lens replacement in January, followed by 3 months of contacts before having a LAG procedure and then LASIK. I was frustrated it took so many months. BUT, I am so thrilled today with my perfect vision. No glasses or contacts. Clear and crisp Vision. I would highly recommend Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

Dr. Davis was very informative. I appreciate the time that was taken to explain the procedure, including the risks involved for my specific case. While I was really hoping to have LASIK, I was grateful that they informed me of the risks of the procedure due to my specific prescription...and decided it would be best for me to not pursue this option. I can tell that everyone loves their job and tries to go the extra mile to give excellent customer service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

I went to Chu Vision to get LASIK done in May of 2014. I've never had any sort of real surgery (except when I got my appendix out) and so I wasn't sure what to expect. As you can imagine you need to be sure you go to a good place when you get eye surgery! I chose Dr. Chu due to his reputation as I received numerous recommendations. While I was nervous in the beginning, the Chu Vision staff put me at ease very quickly, and then when it came time to have the surgery everything went very smoothly. Dr. Chu walked me through the procedure, and that very evening I was able to see without my contact lenses. My recovery was quick and easy. I highly recommend Chu Vision and have told many of my personal friends about the experience. It is now 2015 and I have had no issues or problems, and am thrilled to be done with my glasses! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 03, 2015

Wow! I can see again! It is impossible to say how happy I am after my cataract surgery by Dr. Chu. Everything has gone so smoothly and Dr. Chu's staff is super. I had previous Lasik surgery here as well years ago, and I had an outstanding outcome then, too. It is so important to be seen by someone with loads of experience and with a stellar reputation. Thank you for my crystal clear vision, Dr. Chu! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.Y.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 24, 2015

After wearing glasses everyday since I was 12, I finally decided to get LASIK. I went from -4.5 in one eye and -5.5 in the other (+ astigmatism), to having 20/20 vision! The actual operation with the laser took less than one minute and I was able to go to work the next day. There were some halos and eye fatigue the first two weeks (so I was working at about 40% capacity, I would estimate), but all the negative effects decreased over time. Now, it’s a month later and I’m great! Should have done this a few years ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 23, 2015

I had my surgery less than a week ago and my eyes are already showing 20/20 results. I've had such a wonderful experience here at Chu Vision. I highly recommend for anyone looking into LASIK to come here! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 30, 2014

Dr. Chu and staff are great. They are professional at all times and provide such a wonderful service. I was seeing 20/20 the day after Lasik! I will be recommending Chu Vision Insitute to anyone I know considering Lasik. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 30, 2014

Dr. Chu and staff are great. They are professional at all times and provide such a wonderful service. I was seeing 20/20 the day after Lasik! I will be recommending Chu Vision Insitute to anyone I know considering Lasik. More

4.7
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 28, 2007

Dr. Y. Ralph Chu did my Lasik surgery nearly a decade ago now. My husband did all the research, and this guy was the leader of the pack. He was knowledgeable, personable, and made me feel at ease. These years later, I would recommend him-- and the procedure-- to anyone considering it. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.