PATIENT REVIEWS

Reviews for Bloomington, MN Residency Director Jessica Heckman, O.D.

Patient Feedback

Having clear vision allows people of all ages to enjoy and experience life in special ways. When it comes to the health of your eyes, you should put your trust in only the best. At Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, MN, we take the utmost care and compassion to enhance the quality of your vision and overall wellness. Dr. Ralph Chu and his team perform a number of comprehensive services to address a wide range of concerns, from common to complex. Below, we have compiled a list of reviews from patients just like you who trust our team with the health of their eyes.

Filter14 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 20, 2020

Bare with my lengthy review but if you’re like me, I wanted to know what others true thoughts were and I scoured as many reviews as possible to make sure I was making the best decision for me and my eyes. I am SO, SO thankful for Dr. Chu and Dr. Heckman’s expertise and honesty. I decided it was time to get Lasik and went in for my consultation. From check-in to my latest follow up, everyone at the Chu Vision Institute was friendly, warm, and helpful. Due to some past corneal scarring, Dr. Chu recommended that I get Lasik on one eye and PRK (ASA) on the other. I was extremely nervous about PRK because of the slightly longer recovery time and I really just wanted to wake up and have 20/20 vision like my friends who have had Lasik. The day of my procedure, they made sure I had all my questions and concerns answered before they let me in to have my surgery. That was extremely comforting to me and Dr. Heckman explained why PRK was recommended over Lasik. Simply put, I wouldn’t have had a good outcome if Dr. Chu had performed Lasik on both eyes. Both procedures went well and Dr. Chu confirmed his right decision during the procedure which took all of maybe 10 minutes for both eyes. As instructed, I went home and rested and could literally see 20/20 the next day with my Lasik eye. The PRK eye takes a little longer to heal but can already see better! (I was worried my blurry eye would affect my vision, but it did not). Recovery has been great and will continue to get better in the next few weeks. Now my husband wants to get his eyes done. Chu Vision Institute has exceeded my expectations and I am very happy with my results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

I cannot overstate how impressed I am with Dr. Chu and his staff. Everyone, from his receptionists and coordinators to his nurses and doctors were warm, polite, knowledgeable, and truly excited for me to go on my laser eye surgery journey. The entire testing process was extremely thorough, leaving no stone unturned to make sure that the best surgery option for my situation was selected. Once in the surgery studio, in the span of less than ten minutes, I went from being horrendously nearsighted to 20-30 vision, with 20-20 vision to come in the next couple weeks. I wholeheartedly recommend Chu Vision Institute to any and everyone who is considering laser eye surgery. Dr. Chu is a leader in his field for good reason; I could think of no one better suited to change your life as he did mine. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

My experience at the Chu Vision Institute was fabulous! Every person is kind, caring, helpful and just delightful. From the moment I checked in, I felt welcome, cared for and safe. This place is the model for what healthcare should be. The process for cataract surgery is smooth and efficient and absolutely painless. I cannot recommend them all too highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2018

I cannot overstate how impressed I am with Dr. Chu and his staff. Everyone, from his receptionists and coordinators to his nurses and doctors were warm, polite, knowledgeable, and truly excited for me to go on my laser eye surgery journey. The entire testing process was extremely thorough, leaving no stone unturned to make sure that the best surgery option for my situation was selected. Once in the surgery studio, in the span of less than ten minutes, I went from being horrendously nearsighted to 20-30 vision, with 20-20 vision to come in the next couple weeks. I wholeheartedly recommend Chu Vision Institute to any and everyone who is considering laser eye surgery. Dr. Chu is a leader in his field for good reason; I could think of no one better suited to change your life as he did mine. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

Excellent. I had Lasik on both eyes and everything was wonderful from the initial consultation to the follow up exams. Very friendly and caring staff, clean an modern facility, and free espresso/latte in the waiting room :) Dr. Chu is professional and kind, I trusted him completely with my procedure. Would recommend to anyone for any eye conditions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2017

I am thrilled to say that after wearing glasses or contacts for 61 years, I am now able to see 20/20 without correction!!! Thanks to Dr. Chu at the Chu Vision Institute and all the wonderful nurses, optometrists, and staff for my successful cataract surgery with crystalens. I needed a little tweaking of laser in one eye, but it has turned out great. What a joy to be able to see when I'm swimming! I still reach for my glasses each morning, but what a good feeling when I remember I don't need them. I will always remember the wonderful way I have been treated by Dr. Chu and his staff. Lynn Havlicek More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2015

As an active professional I needed the flexibility in their services and the high touch care the Chu Vision Institute offers. I relied on the staffs knowledge of the procedure (PRK) and went to the best in the Midwest. Dr. Chu's experience and advise really outlined the differentiators of eye care which in today's world can be confusing. I knew I wanted to get rid of my contacts and glasses, but wanted the right procedure done by the right person - as you only have one set of eyes! Thank you Team Chu, I now have 20/20 vision and can enjoy life in a much more fulfilling way. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

As an active professional I needed the flexibility in their services and the high touch care the Chu Vision Institute offers. I relied on the staffs knowledge of the procedure (PRK) and went to the best in the Midwest. Dr. Chu's experience and advise really outlined the differentiators of eye care which in today's world can be confusing. I knew I wanted to get rid of my contacts and glasses, but wanted the right procedure done by the right person - as you only have one set of eyes! Thank you Team Chu, I now have 20/20 vision and can enjoy life in a much more fulfilling way. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

I went to Chu Vision to get LASIK done in May of 2014. I've never had any sort of real surgery (except when I got my appendix out) and so I wasn't sure what to expect. As you can imagine you need to be sure you go to a good place when you get eye surgery! I chose Dr. Chu due to his reputation as I received numerous recommendations. While I was nervous in the beginning, the Chu Vision staff put me at ease very quickly, and then when it came time to have the surgery everything went very smoothly. Dr. Chu walked me through the procedure, and that very evening I was able to see without my contact lenses. My recovery was quick and easy. I highly recommend Chu Vision and have told many of my personal friends about the experience. It is now 2015 and I have had no issues or problems, and am thrilled to be done with my glasses! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

Fantastic experience! I had a terrible experience with my first eye surgeon at another location but Dr Chu and his staff did an amazing job of working with me to correct the issue. They took their time, they listened to me and made sure I completely understood each step before moving forward. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone wanting quality eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

Dr. Chu removed cataracts from both of my eyes 2 years ago and that was an amazing experience. People said I would be surprised at how white things would get and boy was that true!! After the first surgery, I couldn't wait for the second one! When I went back for my 1 year checkup, they asked how my eyes were doing. I told them my vision was blurry after working on the computer all day. The nurse explained that the film that was around the lens sometimes gets wrinkled and the light would get distorted when it hit that. They suggested the YAG procedure that would break up that film to get rid of the blurry vision. I just had my second eye done today and I am SO amazed at how well I see now!! The procedure only took 2 minutes and I walked out with 20/20 vision!! No more glasses for me!! I would suggest this to anyone having any issues after cataract surgery!! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.