PATIENT REVIEWS

Reviews for Bloomington, MN Residency Director Jessica Heckman, O.D.

Patient Feedback

Having clear vision allows people of all ages to enjoy and experience life in special ways. When it comes to the health of your eyes, you should put your trust in only the best. At Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, MN, we take the utmost care and compassion to enhance the quality of your vision and overall wellness. Dr. Ralph Chu and his team perform a number of comprehensive services to address a wide range of concerns, from common to complex. Below, we have compiled a list of reviews from patients just like you who trust our team with the health of their eyes.

Filter67 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from N.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2022

Where to even begin. I had been eagerly anticipating laser vision correction for at least 5 years but life continued to get in the way. I finally was in a position to move forward and found Dr. Chu and his practice upon moving to MN. I honestly do not have the words to express how thoroughly satisfied I am and continue to be with the entire experience. From the initial evaluation to the expert guidance, seamless follow up appointments, excellent communication, wonderful and friendly staff, truly knowledgeable physicians and providers who take the time to answer your questions, I could not be more pleased. I had initially wanted to have SMILE performed but, through the counsel of Drs. Heckman and Chu, underwent ASA with phenomenal results (and the vision continues to sharpen daily which is such an amazing thing to experience). Dr. Chu was able to take my vision from 20/500 (mostly from extremely severe astigmatism with coincident myopia) to 20/20. Most importantly, I was seeing 20/30 in my right eye the day following surgery and 20/20 by the 3-day follow up. At the risk of making this review too lengthy, I have to pay my respect not only to Dr. Chu's practice but to all the individuals who work there. From Dr. Hassan to Dr. Hampton, surgical intake nurses and all the techs, they legitimately made me feel like family. More than that, the work performed at this facility is second to none. I have already referred several colleagues for vision correction at Chu Vision. To top it off, Dr. Chu is honestly a stand up guy with some pretty amazing extracurriculars :) To anyone I may have missed, THANK YOU! Genuinely changing lives for the better. TL;DR - If you care about your eyes and want high-quality, complete care, look no further than Chu Vision. You will not be disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 28, 2022

Dr. Chu did a wonderful job with my SMILE procedure, taking my -5.75 and -6 prescriptions to 20/20. My results are amazing, yes... but I think that being as nervous as I was, the thing that really made this experience phenomenal was the care that Dr. Chu, Dr. Heckman, and the whole team provided. I appreciate that they took the time to talk to me about all of my concerns before I scheduled my procedure - have really dialed in the actual day of your appointment so it's smooth and efficient and you always know what's going on and what to expect - and that they have continued to provide that level of care at every follow up appointment. I have always received such a warm welcome every time I have visited, and am grateful that they always find time to address any questions or concerns. PS - a special thank you to every technician I've been fortunate enough to meet at my appointments, you all provided such lovely, friendly conversation! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 03, 2022

Can't speak highly enough about the results and experience I had with Dr. Chu and his team. After a Lasik procedure I have 20/20 vision. I was obviously a little concerned about having someone mess around with my eyeball with a laser... but the whole team at Chu Vision made me feel comfortable with the procedure and recovery and ensured I felt supported at every step. The procedure was a breeze - Dr. Chu has a great bedside manner and made me feel comfortable I was in good hands. Recovery was straightforward and it's now a full month that I've had great vision and not had to worry about corrective lenses. If you're considering refractive surgery with Chu, do it. My only regret is that I didn't do this sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 19, 2022

From beginning to end, I felt cared for and valued. I was confident I was in good hands. Dr. Chu put me at ease. I'm thrilled I can see!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 12, 2022

Excellent care from everyone starting at the front door and the front desk, with Amy account rep to nurses, April and Amanda, and doctors, Dr Hossam and Dr Heckman and the expert hands of Dr Chu, they are very calming and reassuring through the entire process. Very professional staff helping along the way.Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2022

Experience was very good. Very efficient and so friendly. Made the surgery process very understandable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2022

I cannot thank Dr Chu and his team enough. I had cataract surgery on both eyes. I was expecting to have better vision (wearing readers) but never expected 20/20 vision an 20/16 vision at intermediate distances. I have never seen this good my whole life. I have never experienced colors like I have now. Thank you all so much everyday I am amazed at what I can see. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 01, 2022

It was such a great experience and the staff there was so kind!! After my surgery I could see instantly and over the weeks it only got better! Such a life changer for me and I’ve notice how I’m more active and social than before. From -15 to 20/20 is such a blessing and I just thank God. Also, I am so grateful for chu vision and the care they took with me. They truly care about your end result and satisfaction, rather than a quick buck. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 28, 2022

In September I had cataract surgery with a trifocal lens replacement. Before surgery my vision was so limited without my glasses. I couldn’t see to read or sew. My distance vision was so bad that I even had to wear my glasses to curl my hair. The first night after surgery I could the words on the TV screen with no glasses. By the end of the first week I was sewing with no glasses. It’s been 6 weeks now since surgery and it’s truly amazing! It’s been so life changing. Besides the unbelievable change in my vision, I’d also like to share how amazing the whole staff is here!! The whole procedure was just so easy. It was all so extremely organized. Everybody was beyond kind and helpful and so positive. The procedure itself was so fast. I never felt any pain. I felt so comfortable and relaxed the whole time. Having this procedure was the best decision I’ve ever made!! I highly recommend the Chu Vision Institute!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 25, 2022

I am extremely satisfied and happy with my LASIK procedure at Chu Vision. Their entire staff (receptionists, technicians, nurses and doctors) are friendly and professional. Dr. Chu and Dr. Jessica Heckman were absolutely top notch! I wore wearing glasses to correct my farsightedness for close to 30 years. After my LASIK procedure, I'm now seeing 20/20 or better. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 21, 2022

After a consultation, it was suggested lens replacement surgery would be a good option for me. Having never gone through surgery before (and never having anesthesia), you can imagine I was pretty nervous. Dr. Chu and his staff were so wonderful to me throughout the entire process. They really took the time to get to know me. They even discovered I’m a huge David Bowie fan, and they played “Let’s Dance” (a favorite) as they wheeled me into the operating room for eye surgery #1! ⚡️ Fast forward: Excellent post-op appt. with Chu Vision Institute after eye surgery #2. Confirmed both eyes are at 20/25 (and that’s without any adjustments)! Still need readers, but I don’t mind. Healing well already. I commented to my husband, John, on our drive to Bloomington that it was the first time in 10 years that I’ve been able to clearly read all of the freeway signs. Miraculous. Best thing I’ve ever done. Thanks so, so much! 💜 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 20, 2022

After a consultation, it was suggested lens replacement surgery would be a good option for me. Having never gone through surgery before (and never having anesthesia), you can imagine I was pretty nervous. Dr. Chu and his staff were so wonderful to me throughout the entire process. They really took the time to get to know me. They even discovered I’m a huge David Bowie fan, and they played “Let’s Dance” (a favorite) as they wheeled me into the operating room for eye surgery #1! Fast forward: Excellent post-op appt. with Chu Vision Institute after eye surgery #2. Confirmed both eyes are at 20/25 (and that’s without any adjustments)! Still need readers, but I don’t mind. Healing well already. I commented to my husband, John, on our drive to Bloomington that it was the first time in 10 years that I’ve been able to clearly read all of the freeway signs. Miraculous. Best thing I’ve ever done. Thanks so, so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 02, 2022

In 2014 I had my right eye cataract remove. It was not a happy experience. Several years later I knew I would need to have my left eye done. Sept 21, 2022 I had it removed. This was such a different experience. At Chu Vision Institute I am a live person, not just a body going through an assembly line. Chu Clinic makes sure they know your eyes. They do multitude of tests, ask questions so they know which lens you need.i am very happy with my experience with Dr Chu. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 26, 2022

Everyone is friendly, professional, and informative. Chu Vision is a wonderful place. I’ve gone there for many years and always a good experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 16, 2022

Dr. Chu and I go back to the year 2000, when Chu Vision's beginnings consisted of a small office at 77th and France. I had attended Dr. Chu's seminar on lens implant surgery. At the time, he had performed less than a hundred implants. I instantly recognized his extensive knowledge and dedication, and the implant surgery was a great success. Over the years, his practice grew into the impressive Chu Vision Institute, where he excels in eye care and corrective surgery. I have since frequented Chu Vision Institute for yearly exams and for correcting troubling eye problems. I have seen Jessica Hackman, Erin Carlson, and recently Hosam Hassan. Each doctor has impressive skills. Doctor Hassan has helped resolve troubling eye issues twice in recent months. He is kind, confident and knowledgeable, and performed the necessary treatment quickly and successfully. He is certainly a credit to the Chu Vision team. Sight is a precious gift, and there is none better to trust your vision to than Dr. Chu and his dedicated team of ophthalmologists. More

5.0
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 02, 2022

I cannot express enough how easy and convenient my cataract surgery appts were. Top notch people all around. The place runs like a well oiled machine❣️ Thank you Dr Chu & Dr Heckman and ALL More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 02, 2022

I went in to have my eyes looked at for cataracts at 67 years old , my experience with Chu vision was amazing , EVERY person I met there took care of me in a personal way. I went through a lot of testing but they made the time go fast as they explained what was next . Before surgery through the blur of cataracts I had hard time driving at night , colors were tuff too ( I had no idea I was that blind ) lol Today I can tell you , I no longer need glasses for reading or long distance , I cannot remember ever seeing this well . For what ever its worth I got the (Restor 3 Lens) amazing clarity, not sure if they work for everyone but I am sure Dr Chu and his staff will give you the best for your situation . I don't often write a review but I am so excited about my new lenes I just had to share my experience Dr Heckman and Dr Hassen say people come back for the check ups come in very happy with their new vision like me ( fun job for them :) Normally you go to the doctor to get back to normal , here I got clearer and sharper vison , I tell everyone I meet how lucky I am to get this very sharp vison ,, I am sure everyone is tired of me talking about how excited I am being able to see this well . I want to thank you Dr Chu and of course all your staff that really made my life happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.V.  |  Source: Google  |  May 02, 2022

(Translated by Google) The whole experience is extremely positive. The staff exhibit exceptional customer service. The ophthalmologist's verification of all eye conditions is very complete and they take great care to listen and follow up on your comments. In short, it is the best experience I have had in this class of ophthalmology services. (Original) Toda la experiencia es extremadamente positiva. El personal exhibe un trato al cliente excepcional. La verificación del oftalmólogo de todas las condiciones de los ojos es bien completa y se esmeran en oír y dar seguimiento a tus comentarios. Resumiendo es la mejor experiencia que he tenido en esta clase de servicios de oftalmologia More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 15, 2022

Dr. Chu & his staff were all extremely nice, knowledgeable, & helpful. Had PRK surgery and went from -5.75 and -6.5 prescriptions to 20/20. Whole process went smooth and they walk you through everything. Been wearing glasses or contacts since I was in 3rd grade, it’s a crazy feeling waking up seeing unassisted! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 11, 2021

My vision correction is experience at the Chu Vision Institute couldn’t have been better. Though their pre screen process Dr. Chu and his staff take extreme care to ensure you and your eyes are a good fit for laser correction surgery. Once it is was determined that LASIK was the best option for me, Dr. Chu’s awesome staff was on point getting me ready for my procedure. Dr. Chu even did a video call with me a couple of days before the procedure to answer any additional questions I had and to describe the procedure itself. The day after my LASIK procedure I was seeing 20/15 in both eyes !! The only regret I have is that I waited so long to get my eyes fixed. The Chu Vision Institute gave me my vision back and I am super grateful! Thank you all for taking such good care of me and my eyes. Best, Todd- More

5.0
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 24, 2021

Dr. Chu has created an environment for his employees to thrive. By continually being a role model and exercising positive word choice, it is evident that he and his staff are genuinely excited and happy for the outcomes of their patients. I have been in eye care for 15 years and would be honored to be a team member in an office like Chu Vision. I could not recommend a better institution to have lasik at- in fact, I have told multiple patients of mine that I would not go anywhere else and would not trust anyone but Dr. Chu with my eyes. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 23, 2021

My experience with everyone at Chu Vision (cataract removal and lens implant) was nothing less than the absolute best care that I've had in a very long time, so professional, friendly and caring! My eyesight has not been this good in ages and it practically happened over night. Dr. Chu and his team are the best!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 07, 2021

DISSAPOINTED  but GRATEFUL FOR HONESTYI went in for a consultation and was told I should wait a couple more years before having corrective surgery because there are some procedures/products on the horizon that would be a good fit for me if I just wait.  Way to go Chu Vision!  They are in this for the long haul and want happy customers!!  I’ll be back when the time is right!!! More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jun 24, 2021

The best medical experience so far. Everyone was super friendly and patient. Thank you for an awesome experience. More

5.0
Review from N.C.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jun 24, 2021

I felt anxious at the pre op screening visit because I didn't understand how long the measuring process would take. Did I not ask enough questions? Did I not understand the explanations of the procedure? I'm not sure. But once I voiced my concern everything was explained to my complete understanding. The facility met or exceeded all the COVID protocols. It was close to home -- easy to access and had free parking. Dr. Chu was approachable and caring. Dr. Heckman was patient, caring and concerned about me as well as making sure Dr. Chu received the specs he needed to perform perfect surgery. THANK YOU!!!! More

5.0
Review from L.F.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jun 15, 2021

I visited Chu Vision for a consultation for Lasik. My experience was wonderful. I've never had such a thorough examination of my eyes. They were very clear in their explanation of the tests and procedures. I especially appreciated their honesty informing me that I was not a candidate for Lasik nor the lens replacement surgery at this time. More

5.0
Review from C.E.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  May 26, 2021

It's always a pleasure (believe it or not!) to be in your lobby. It seems more relaxing than other clinics. Dr. Jessica Heckman is so nice, knowledgeable and appears truly concerned. I will continue my eyecare at Chu Vision. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 04, 2021

Today after years of waiting to get LASIK I took the leap. Terrified as I was, all of the wonderful staff was amazing and kind. Dr. Chu talked me through the whole procedure, which is honestly an outstanding experience. I could not recommend Chu Vision Institute any higher! Perfect 10 :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 19, 2020

I’m so impressed with Chu Vision!! Everything inside is totally sanitized and they have a state of the art filtration system. I have never felt safer! It’s so clean, you could eat off the floor. The entire staff is incredible! Everyone is so friendly, welcoming and professional. I have been going to Chu Vision for the past 10 years and I will never go anywhere else. Thank you for your wonderful service! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 17, 2020

I’m so impressed with Chu Vision!! Everything inside is totally sanitized and they have a state of the art filtration system. I have never felt safer! It’s so clean, you could eat off the floor.The entire staff is incredible! Everyone is so friendly, welcoming and professional. I have been going to Chu Vision for the past 10 years and I will never go anywhere else. Thank you for your wonderful service!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 20, 2020

Bare with my lengthy review but if you’re like me, I wanted to know what others true thoughts were and I scoured as many reviews as possible to make sure I was making the best decision for me and my eyes. I am SO, SO thankful for Dr. Chu and Dr. Heckman’s expertise and honesty. I decided it was time to get Lasik and went in for my consultation. From check-in to my latest follow up, everyone at the Chu Vision Institute was friendly, warm, and helpful. Due to some past corneal scarring, Dr. Chu recommended that I get Lasik on one eye and PRK (ASA) on the other. I was extremely nervous about PRK because of the slightly longer recovery time and I really just wanted to wake up and have 20/20 vision like my friends who have had Lasik. The day of my procedure, they made sure I had all my questions and concerns answered before they let me in to have my surgery. That was extremely comforting to me and Dr. Heckman explained why PRK was recommended over Lasik. Simply put, I wouldn’t have had a good outcome if Dr. Chu had performed Lasik on both eyes. Both procedures went well and Dr. Chu confirmed his right decision during the procedure which took all of maybe 10 minutes for both eyes. As instructed, I went home and rested and could literally see 20/20 the next day with my Lasik eye. The PRK eye takes a little longer to heal but can already see better! (I was worried my blurry eye would affect my vision, but it did not). Recovery has been great and will continue to get better in the next few weeks. Now my husband wants to get his eyes done. Chu Vision Institute has exceeded my expectations and I am very happy with my results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 19, 2019

I recently visited the Chu clinic as my eye sight seemed to be getting worse and after being seen at Vision Works and another place which I care to forget the name, I was so pleasantly surprised. From the first step in the door to all my tests, the Dr. visit and back out the door, I was treated like a person and not a number. Thank you for your care, diagnosis, and your pleasant atmosphere. I will be coming back as they referred me to retinol specialist. I can not thank you enough. Keep up the good work you all do from the receptionist, to the xray tech., to the Dr. You make it easy to come to the Dr. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 01, 2019

dr chu is a gift from god.thank you from the bottom of my heart. not even 48 hours yet since my surgery. and I'm seeing wonderful. thank youuuuuuu. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

I cannot overstate how impressed I am with Dr. Chu and his staff. Everyone, from his receptionists and coordinators to his nurses and doctors were warm, polite, knowledgeable, and truly excited for me to go on my laser eye surgery journey. The entire testing process was extremely thorough, leaving no stone unturned to make sure that the best surgery option for my situation was selected. Once in the surgery studio, in the span of less than ten minutes, I went from being horrendously nearsighted to 20-30 vision, with 20-20 vision to come in the next couple weeks. I wholeheartedly recommend Chu Vision Institute to any and everyone who is considering laser eye surgery. Dr. Chu is a leader in his field for good reason; I could think of no one better suited to change your life as he did mine. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2019

My experience at the Chu Vision Institute was fabulous! Every person is kind, caring, helpful and just delightful. From the moment I checked in, I felt welcome, cared for and safe. This place is the model for what healthcare should be. The process for cataract surgery is smooth and efficient and absolutely painless. I cannot recommend them all too highly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.Z.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 19, 2019

I've know/worked with Dr. Chu for almost 20 years and his knowledge and ability is among the top in the field. He has an incredible staff that help patients feel comfortable during times when most are anxious. I have referred several very good friends and family to him for surgery and all have had remarkable outcomes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.Z.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 19, 2019

I've know/worked with Dr. Chu for almost 20 years and his knowledge and ability is among the top in the field. He has an incredible staff that help patients feel comfortable during times when most are anxious. I have referred several very good friends and family to him for surgery and all have had remarkable outcomes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2018

I cannot overstate how impressed I am with Dr. Chu and his staff. Everyone, from his receptionists and coordinators to his nurses and doctors were warm, polite, knowledgeable, and truly excited for me to go on my laser eye surgery journey. The entire testing process was extremely thorough, leaving no stone unturned to make sure that the best surgery option for my situation was selected. Once in the surgery studio, in the span of less than ten minutes, I went from being horrendously nearsighted to 20-30 vision, with 20-20 vision to come in the next couple weeks. I wholeheartedly recommend Chu Vision Institute to any and everyone who is considering laser eye surgery. Dr. Chu is a leader in his field for good reason; I could think of no one better suited to change your life as he did mine. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2018

Excellent. I had Lasik on both eyes and everything was wonderful from the initial consultation to the follow up exams. Very friendly and caring staff, clean an modern facility, and free espresso/latte in the waiting room :) Dr. Chu is professional and kind, I trusted him completely with my procedure. Would recommend to anyone for any eye conditions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 28, 2017

I cannot say enough good things about Dr Chu and his team. From the minute you step in the door till you leave everyone is very helpful and pleasant. They explained every step and answered any and all questions without making me feel silly about asking them. I would recommend Dr Chu to anyone needing eye care. Go team go. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 28, 2017

I cannot say enough good things about Dr Chu and his team. From the minute you step in the door till you leave everyone is very helpful and pleasant. They explained every step and answered any and all questions without making me feel silly about asking them. I would recommend Dr Chu to anyone needing eye care. Go team go. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 25, 2017

From day one, Dr Chu and his experienced world class professional staff have been amazing, beyond my expectations. I continue to feel they have my best interest in mind and they care so much about their patients. I was referred to Chu Vision Institute by my fiancé's brother who was very pleased with his lasik procedure. He had told me that Dr Chu is the best of the best and in fact that night I first heard of him, I had seen him on the Nightly News. When you walk into the off...ice it becomes very apparent the level of experience at his office by all the awards, certifications and media/articles he's been featured in. I came in last year for my initial consult not knowing what to expect. They did a thorough job of examining my eyes and consulting me afterwards - whether I'd be a good candidate, the different options, the risks and their recommendation - Modern PRK or ASA to treat my myopia and astigmatism. I planned the following year to get the procedure done and since it was more than 6 months from my original measurements they had me come in again to confirm they had everything correct and my vision was consistent which to me was very impressive. The day of my first procedure I felt educated on the process and although anytime you go into surgery you can't help but feel nervous, the nurses and other doctors in the room made me comfortable. Dr Chu was right there coaching me through the whole procedure and it was so surprisingly easy. The post op service is amazing too! A nurse is available 24/7 to answer any concerns or questions you may have. Luckily I didn't need to call during odd hours but they were very friendly with my "is this normal?" post op questions and there were many because that's just the kind of person I am! Now, I can see without glasses or contacts and my life is changed! Thank you Chu Vision Institute for everything. I will continue to sing your praise! Lastly, I will certainly become a donator to your foundation as well! You guys do great work and I love that you give back as well! You truly are changing the lives for many people around the world! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 25, 2017

From day one, Dr Chu and his experienced world class professional staff have been amazing, beyond my expectations. I continue to feel they have my best interest in mind and they care so much about their patients. I was referred to Chu Vision Institute by my fiancé's brother who was very pleased with his lasik procedure. He had told me that Dr Chu is the best of the best and in fact that night I first heard of him, I had seen him on the Nightly News. When you walk into the office it becomes very apparent the level of experience at his office by all the awards, certifications and media/articles he's been featured in. I came in last year for my initial consult not knowing what to expect. They did a thorough job of examining my eyes and consulting me afterwards - whether I'd be a good candidate, the different options, the risks and their recommendation - Modern PRK or ASA to treat my myopia and astigmatism. I planned the following year to get the procedure done and since it was more than 6 months from my original measurements they had me come in again to confirm they had everything correct and my vision was consistent which to me was very impressive. The day of my first procedure I felt educated on the process and although anytime you go into surgery you can't help but feel nervous, the nurses and other doctors in the room made me comfortable. Dr Chu was right there coaching me through the whole procedure and it was so surprisingly easy. The post op service is amazing too! A nurse is available 24/7 to answer any concerns or questions you may have. Luckily I didn't need to call during odd hours but they were very friendly with my "is this normal?" post op questions and there were many because that's just the kind of person I am! Now, I can see without glasses or contacts and my life is changed! Thank you Chu Vision Institute for everything. I will continue to sing your praise!</p> Lastly, I will certainly become a donator to your foundation as well! You guys do great work and I love that you give back as well! You truly are changing the lives for many people around the world! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 26, 2017

I have been with the Chu "team" since I moved to Minnesota from Chicago in 2009. Dr. Chu's reputation is so vast that I was recommended to Dr. Chu by my eye surgeon in Chicago when he learned I was moving to the Twin Cities. I have always felt very good about the care and the team of professionals that works at his office. My husband also has now been using the services of the Chu Institute as well. I highly recommend them to care for your eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 26, 2017

I have been with the Chu "team" since I moved to Minnesota from Chicago in 2009. Dr. Chu's reputation is so vast that I was recommended to Dr. Chu by my eye surgeon in Chicago when he learned I was moving to… More the Twin Cities. I have always felt very good about the care and the team of professionals that works at his office. My husband also has now been using the services of the Chu Institute as well. I highly recommend them to care for your eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 26, 2017

I have been with the Chu "team" since I moved to Minnesota from Chicago in 2009. Dr. Chu's reputation is so vast that I was recommended to Dr. Chu by my eye surgeon in Chicago when he learned I was moving to the Twin Cities. I have always felt very good about the care and the team of professionals that works at his office. My husband also has now been using the services of the Chu Institute as well. I highly recommend them to care for your eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2017

I am thrilled to say that after wearing glasses or contacts for 61 years, I am now able to see 20/20 without correction!!! Thanks to Dr. Chu at the Chu Vision Institute and all the wonderful nurses, optometrists, and staff for my successful cataract surgery with crystalens. I needed a little tweaking of laser in one eye, but it has turned out great. What a joy to be able to see when I'm swimming! I still reach for my glasses each morning, but what a good feeling when I remember I don't need them. I will always remember the wonderful way I have been treated by Dr. Chu and his staff. Lynn Havlicek More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 18, 2017

I would like to thank everyone at Chu Vision for my gift of the best sight that I can remember. I am simply amazed with the professionalism of the entire staff. The procedures in both eyes was pain free. I cannot express what good eyesight and being completely free of any corrective lens means to me. Thank you Dave Kight More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 30, 2017

I am thrilled to say that after wearing glasses or contacts for 61 years, I am now able to see 20/20 without correction!!! Thanks to Dr. Chu at the Chu Vision Institute and all the wonderful nurses, optometrists, and staff for my successful cataract surgery with crystalens. I needed a little tweaking of laser in one eye but it has turned out great. What a joy to be able to see when I'm swimming! I still reach for my glasses each morning, but what a good feeling when I remember I don't need them. Thank you Dr. Chu and your caring staff for such a wonderful experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.V.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 15, 2016

Take good care of you, have Keurig. Only thing need is a TV other than eye videos. My hubby waits for me and nothing to watch or do More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Mar 24, 2016

Friendly staff and doctors. They made me feel comfortable for my first visit . I recommend this place for everybody. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.T.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Mar 24, 2016

Friendly staff and doctors. They made me feel comfortable for my first visit . I recommend this place for everybody.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2015

As an active professional I needed the flexibility in their services and the high touch care the Chu Vision Institute offers. I relied on the staffs knowledge of the procedure (PRK) and went to the best in the Midwest. Dr. Chu's experience and advise really outlined the differentiators of eye care which in today's world can be confusing. I knew I wanted to get rid of my contacts and glasses, but wanted the right procedure done by the right person - as you only have one set of eyes! Thank you Team Chu, I now have 20/20 vision and can enjoy life in a much more fulfilling way. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jul 07, 2015

I was very happy with the whole experience at the clinic today. They listened to my concerns and together we came up with a plan that will be the best for my situation.read more More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jul 07, 2015

I was very happy with the whole experience at the clinic today. They listened to my concerns and together we came up with a plan that will be the best for my situation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

As an active professional I needed the flexibility in their services and the high touch care the Chu Vision Institute offers. I relied on the staffs knowledge of the procedure (PRK) and went to the best in the Midwest. Dr. Chu's experience and advise really outlined the differentiators of eye care which in today's world can be confusing. I knew I wanted to get rid of my contacts and glasses, but wanted the right procedure done by the right person - as you only have one set of eyes! Thank you Team Chu, I now have 20/20 vision and can enjoy life in a much more fulfilling way. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

Fantastic experience! I had a terrible experience with my first eye surgeon at another location but Dr Chu and his staff did an amazing job of working with me to correct the issue. They took their time, they listened to me and made sure I completely understood each step before moving forward. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone wanting quality eye care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

Dr. Chu removed cataracts from both of my eyes 2 years ago and that was an amazing experience. People said I would be surprised at how white things would get and boy was that true!! After the first surgery, I couldn't wait for the second one! When I went back for my 1 year checkup, they asked how my eyes were doing. I told them my vision was blurry after working on the computer all day. The nurse explained that the film that was around the lens sometimes gets wrinkled and the light would get distorted when it hit that. They suggested the YAG procedure that would break up that film to get rid of the blurry vision. I just had my second eye done today and I am SO amazed at how well I see now!! The procedure only took 2 minutes and I walked out with 20/20 vision!! No more glasses for me!! I would suggest this to anyone having any issues after cataract surgery!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2015

I went to Chu Vision to get LASIK done in May of 2014. I've never had any sort of real surgery (except when I got my appendix out) and so I wasn't sure what to expect. As you can imagine you need to be sure you go to a good place when you get eye surgery! I chose Dr. Chu due to his reputation as I received numerous recommendations. While I was nervous in the beginning, the Chu Vision staff put me at ease very quickly, and then when it came time to have the surgery everything went very smoothly. Dr. Chu walked me through the procedure, and that very evening I was able to see without my contact lenses. My recovery was quick and easy. I highly recommend Chu Vision and have told many of my personal friends about the experience. It is now 2015 and I have had no issues or problems, and am thrilled to be done with my glasses! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 18, 2015

I recently had cataract surgery on both eyes with amazing results. I'm pretty much glasses-free, except for occasional use of readers. After over 50 years of wearing glasses all the time, this is unbelievable! It's like my world is all high definition! From Dr. Chu and the crew at Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, I received TOP NOTCH care. I couldn't be happier with the the whole experience, all the interactions with support staff, nurses, doctors, etc. I received all the information and support that I could possible need to make the right decision about my eyes. Surgery days were smooth sailing...what a team! Post-surgery has been a breeze, too. I can't say enough good things about the whole experience. As the song goes, I can see clearly now, and I have the Chu Vision Institute to thank! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 18, 2015

I recently had cataract surgery on both eyes with amazing results. I'm pretty much glasses-free, except for occasional use of readers. After over 50 years of wearing glasses all the time, this is unbelievable!… More It's like my world is all high definition! From Dr. Chu and the crew at Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, I received TOP NOTCH care. I couldn't be happier with the the whole experience, all the interactions with support staff, nurses, doctors, etc. I received all the information and support that I could possible need to make the right decision about my eyes. Surgery days were smooth sailing...what a team! Post-surgery has been a breeze, too. I can't say enough good things about the whole experience. As the song goes, I can see clearly now, and I have the Chu Vision Institute to thank! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 23, 2015

Great experience!  I’ve worn contacts since high school and I haven’t been able to see the big E on the eye chart for years.  I’m a professional pilot, so I was nervous about having surgery in case anything went wrong.At my first visit I was told of all the worst case scenarios.  Even after that I still had enough confidence in Dr Chu after hearing so many good things about him.  The entire staff was very professional and friendly.  From the doctors and nurses to the very helpful financial coordinators I had a wonderful experience.I had the ASA surgery and after one month I see 20/20.  I still don’t feel like it’s real.  I don’t have enough nice things to say about Dr Chu and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 04, 2015

We were with an ophthalmologist with my mom when she was hospitalized at Fairview Ridges Hospital after falling directly on her eye and the optic nerve swelled immediately and died. At that time, we asked for a recommendation for a good doctor who treated Fuchs Dystrophy of the eye, which my husband had. This physician said, "If it were me, I would only allow Dr. Ralph Chu to touch my eyes." And that is our opinion as well. The entire clinic is so professional and caring, Dr. Chu is amazing at what he does (go and see his awards and news articles framed all over the building), and we will continue our care there as long as we are able. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 04, 2015

We were with an ophthalmologist with my mom when she was hospitalized at Fairview Ridges Hospital after falling directly on her eye and the optic nerve swelled immediately and died. At that time, we asked for a… More recommendation for a good doctor who treated Fuchs Dystrophy of the eye, which my husband had. This physician said, "If it were me, I would only allow Dr. Ralph Chu to touch my eyes." And that is our opinion as well. The entire clinic is so professional and caring, Dr. Chu is amazing at what he does (go and see his awards and news articles framed all over the building), and we will continue our care there as long as we are able. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.