PATIENT REVIEWS

Reviews for Bloomington, MN Optometrist Erin Carlson, O.D. LASIK Services

Patient Feedback

Having clear vision allows people of all ages to enjoy and experience life in special ways. When it comes to the health of your eyes, you should put your trust in only the best. At Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, MN, we take the utmost care and compassion to enhance the quality of your vision and overall wellness. Dr. Ralph Chu and his team perform a number of comprehensive services to address a wide range of concerns, from common to complex. Below, we have compiled a list of reviews from patients just like you who trust our team with the health of their eyes.

Filter9 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 03, 2022

Can't speak highly enough about the results and experience I had with Dr. Chu and his team. After a Lasik procedure I have 20/20 vision. I was obviously a little concerned about having someone mess around with my eyeball with a laser... but the whole team at Chu Vision made me feel comfortable with the procedure and recovery and ensured I felt supported at every step. The procedure was a breeze - Dr. Chu has a great bedside manner and made me feel comfortable I was in good hands. Recovery was straightforward and it's now a full month that I've had great vision and not had to worry about corrective lenses. If you're considering refractive surgery with Chu, do it. My only regret is that I didn't do this sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 11, 2021

My vision correction is experience at the Chu Vision Institute couldn’t have been better. Though their pre screen process Dr. Chu and his staff take extreme care to ensure you and your eyes are a good fit for laser correction surgery. Once it is was determined that LASIK was the best option for me, Dr. Chu’s awesome staff was on point getting me ready for my procedure. Dr. Chu even did a video call with me a couple of days before the procedure to answer any additional questions I had and to describe the procedure itself. The day after my LASIK procedure I was seeing 20/15 in both eyes !! The only regret I have is that I waited so long to get my eyes fixed. The Chu Vision Institute gave me my vision back and I am super grateful! Thank you all for taking such good care of me and my eyes. Best, Todd- More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 21, 2021

Dr. Chu was absolutely wonderful explaining every step of my lasik procedure. He was fantastic in answering all of my questions before, during and after the procedure. More

5.0
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 24, 2021

Dr. Chu has created an environment for his employees to thrive. By continually being a role model and exercising positive word choice, it is evident that he and his staff are genuinely excited and happy for the outcomes of their patients. I have been in eye care for 15 years and would be honored to be a team member in an office like Chu Vision. I could not recommend a better institution to have lasik at- in fact, I have told multiple patients of mine that I would not go anywhere else and would not trust anyone but Dr. Chu with my eyes. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 07, 2021

DISSAPOINTED  but GRATEFUL FOR HONESTYI went in for a consultation and was told I should wait a couple more years before having corrective surgery because there are some procedures/products on the horizon that would be a good fit for me if I just wait.  Way to go Chu Vision!  They are in this for the long haul and want happy customers!!  I’ll be back when the time is right!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 04, 2021

Today after years of waiting to get LASIK I took the leap. Terrified as I was, all of the wonderful staff was amazing and kind. Dr. Chu talked me through the whole procedure, which is honestly an outstanding experience. I could not recommend Chu Vision Institute any higher! Perfect 10 :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 20, 2020

Bare with my lengthy review but if you’re like me, I wanted to know what others true thoughts were and I scoured as many reviews as possible to make sure I was making the best decision for me and my eyes. I am SO, SO thankful for Dr. Chu and Dr. Heckman’s expertise and honesty. I decided it was time to get Lasik and went in for my consultation. From check-in to my latest follow up, everyone at the Chu Vision Institute was friendly, warm, and helpful. Due to some past corneal scarring, Dr. Chu recommended that I get Lasik on one eye and PRK (ASA) on the other. I was extremely nervous about PRK because of the slightly longer recovery time and I really just wanted to wake up and have 20/20 vision like my friends who have had Lasik. The day of my procedure, they made sure I had all my questions and concerns answered before they let me in to have my surgery. That was extremely comforting to me and Dr. Heckman explained why PRK was recommended over Lasik. Simply put, I wouldn’t have had a good outcome if Dr. Chu had performed Lasik on both eyes. Both procedures went well and Dr. Chu confirmed his right decision during the procedure which took all of maybe 10 minutes for both eyes. As instructed, I went home and rested and could literally see 20/20 the next day with my Lasik eye. The PRK eye takes a little longer to heal but can already see better! (I was worried my blurry eye would affect my vision, but it did not). Recovery has been great and will continue to get better in the next few weeks. Now my husband wants to get his eyes done. Chu Vision Institute has exceeded my expectations and I am very happy with my results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.