PATIENT REVIEWS

Reviews for Bloomington, MN Optometrist Erin Carlson, O.D.

Patient Feedback

Having clear vision allows people of all ages to enjoy and experience life in special ways. When it comes to the health of your eyes, you should put your trust in only the best. At Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, MN, we take the utmost care and compassion to enhance the quality of your vision and overall wellness. Dr. Ralph Chu and his team perform a number of comprehensive services to address a wide range of concerns, from common to complex. Below, we have compiled a list of reviews from patients just like you who trust our team with the health of their eyes.

Filter32 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 10, 2022

This staff is absolutely amazing!!! They talk to you as a human and take the time to explain what they are going to do. They spend time answering questions and concerns. Dr. Chu and his team…I honestly couldn’t have asked for more. They genuinely care, and you can hear it in their voices. I was nervous, and as an adult male that can be….belittling…but they were amazing! They actually pumped up my confidence. I will never go anywhere else for my eyes. I plan on scheduling all my appointments with them. Give them a chance, they will not disappoint. I heard it in the waiting room, everyone was happy and appreciative. Thank you all for making my life better! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 03, 2022

Can't speak highly enough about the results and experience I had with Dr. Chu and his team. After a Lasik procedure I have 20/20 vision. I was obviously a little concerned about having someone mess around with my eyeball with a laser... but the whole team at Chu Vision made me feel comfortable with the procedure and recovery and ensured I felt supported at every step. The procedure was a breeze - Dr. Chu has a great bedside manner and made me feel comfortable I was in good hands. Recovery was straightforward and it's now a full month that I've had great vision and not had to worry about corrective lenses. If you're considering refractive surgery with Chu, do it. My only regret is that I didn't do this sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 19, 2022

From beginning to end, I felt cared for and valued. I was confident I was in good hands. Dr. Chu put me at ease. I'm thrilled I can see!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 15, 2022

Dr. Chu and his team made everything so easy! The my LASIK procedure was so quick I could not believe it! Dr Chu was great about explaining everything and answering my questions. He and his team made me feel at ease during my procedure. I would definitely recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2022

Experience was very good. Very efficient and so friendly. Made the surgery process very understandable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2022

I cannot thank Dr Chu and his team enough. I had cataract surgery on both eyes. I was expecting to have better vision (wearing readers) but never expected 20/20 vision an 20/16 vision at intermediate distances. I have never seen this good my whole life. I have never experienced colors like I have now. Thank you all so much everyday I am amazed at what I can see. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 01, 2022

It was such a great experience and the staff there was so kind!! After my surgery I could see instantly and over the weeks it only got better! Such a life changer for me and I’ve notice how I’m more active and social than before. From -15 to 20/20 is such a blessing and I just thank God. Also, I am so grateful for chu vision and the care they took with me. They truly care about your end result and satisfaction, rather than a quick buck. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 28, 2022

In September I had cataract surgery with a trifocal lens replacement. Before surgery my vision was so limited without my glasses. I couldn’t see to read or sew. My distance vision was so bad that I even had to wear my glasses to curl my hair. The first night after surgery I could the words on the TV screen with no glasses. By the end of the first week I was sewing with no glasses. It’s been 6 weeks now since surgery and it’s truly amazing! It’s been so life changing. Besides the unbelievable change in my vision, I’d also like to share how amazing the whole staff is here!! The whole procedure was just so easy. It was all so extremely organized. Everybody was beyond kind and helpful and so positive. The procedure itself was so fast. I never felt any pain. I felt so comfortable and relaxed the whole time. Having this procedure was the best decision I’ve ever made!! I highly recommend the Chu Vision Institute!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 21, 2022

After a consultation, it was suggested lens replacement surgery would be a good option for me. Having never gone through surgery before (and never having anesthesia), you can imagine I was pretty nervous. Dr. Chu and his staff were so wonderful to me throughout the entire process. They really took the time to get to know me. They even discovered I’m a huge David Bowie fan, and they played “Let’s Dance” (a favorite) as they wheeled me into the operating room for eye surgery #1! ⚡️ Fast forward: Excellent post-op appt. with Chu Vision Institute after eye surgery #2. Confirmed both eyes are at 20/25 (and that’s without any adjustments)! Still need readers, but I don’t mind. Healing well already. I commented to my husband, John, on our drive to Bloomington that it was the first time in 10 years that I’ve been able to clearly read all of the freeway signs. Miraculous. Best thing I’ve ever done. Thanks so, so much! 💜 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 20, 2022

After a consultation, it was suggested lens replacement surgery would be a good option for me. Having never gone through surgery before (and never having anesthesia), you can imagine I was pretty nervous. Dr. Chu and his staff were so wonderful to me throughout the entire process. They really took the time to get to know me. They even discovered I’m a huge David Bowie fan, and they played “Let’s Dance” (a favorite) as they wheeled me into the operating room for eye surgery #1! Fast forward: Excellent post-op appt. with Chu Vision Institute after eye surgery #2. Confirmed both eyes are at 20/25 (and that’s without any adjustments)! Still need readers, but I don’t mind. Healing well already. I commented to my husband, John, on our drive to Bloomington that it was the first time in 10 years that I’ve been able to clearly read all of the freeway signs. Miraculous. Best thing I’ve ever done. Thanks so, so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 02, 2022

In 2014 I had my right eye cataract remove. It was not a happy experience. Several years later I knew I would need to have my left eye done. Sept 21, 2022 I had it removed. This was such a different experience. At Chu Vision Institute I am a live person, not just a body going through an assembly line. Chu Clinic makes sure they know your eyes. They do multitude of tests, ask questions so they know which lens you need.i am very happy with my experience with Dr Chu. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 23, 2022

I recently had cataract eye surgery at the Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, Minnesota. Cataract surgery is all about testing, exams, preparation, and follow-up, post surgical care. As I went through the process at Chu Vision Institute I was amazed at the efficiency and professionalism of the medical staff at the clinic. I lost count of the number of individuals there who courteously guided me through the many exams using more high-tech eye exam machines than I knew existed. At every step of the way I was treated with an impressively high degree of professionalism and courtesy. All my questions were answered and I went into surgery with confidence and zero anxiety. The clinic is probably the busiest medical clinic I have ever seen, yet I never felt "lost in the shuffle" or rushed. The expression which kept coming to mind was that the clinic operates "like a well-oiled machine" without making the patient feel like a "cog in the machine." On the day of my second procedure, I told Dr. Chu that he can be rightfully proud of what he has built at the Chu Vision Institute. I would recommend Dr. Chu and his amazing staff of professionals to anyone considering any kind of eye surgery offered at the clinic. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 26, 2022

Everyone is friendly, professional, and informative. Chu Vision is a wonderful place. I’ve gone there for many years and always a good experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 16, 2022

Dr. Chu and I go back to the year 2000, when Chu Vision's beginnings consisted of a small office at 77th and France. I had attended Dr. Chu's seminar on lens implant surgery. At the time, he had performed less than a hundred implants. I instantly recognized his extensive knowledge and dedication, and the implant surgery was a great success. Over the years, his practice grew into the impressive Chu Vision Institute, where he excels in eye care and corrective surgery. I have since frequented Chu Vision Institute for yearly exams and for correcting troubling eye problems. I have seen Jessica Hackman, Erin Carlson, and recently Hosam Hassan. Each doctor has impressive skills. Doctor Hassan has helped resolve troubling eye issues twice in recent months. He is kind, confident and knowledgeable, and performed the necessary treatment quickly and successfully. He is certainly a credit to the Chu Vision team. Sight is a precious gift, and there is none better to trust your vision to than Dr. Chu and his dedicated team of ophthalmologists. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 02, 2022

I went in to have my eyes looked at for cataracts at 67 years old , my experience with Chu vision was amazing , EVERY person I met there took care of me in a personal way. I went through a lot of testing but they made the time go fast as they explained what was next . Before surgery through the blur of cataracts I had hard time driving at night , colors were tuff too ( I had no idea I was that blind ) lol Today I can tell you , I no longer need glasses for reading or long distance , I cannot remember ever seeing this well . For what ever its worth I got the (Restor 3 Lens) amazing clarity, not sure if they work for everyone but I am sure Dr Chu and his staff will give you the best for your situation . I don't often write a review but I am so excited about my new lenes I just had to share my experience Dr Heckman and Dr Hassen say people come back for the check ups come in very happy with their new vision like me ( fun job for them :) Normally you go to the doctor to get back to normal , here I got clearer and sharper vison , I tell everyone I meet how lucky I am to get this very sharp vison ,, I am sure everyone is tired of me talking about how excited I am being able to see this well . I want to thank you Dr Chu and of course all your staff that really made my life happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.V.  |  Source: Google  |  May 02, 2022

(Translated by Google) The whole experience is extremely positive. The staff exhibit exceptional customer service. The ophthalmologist's verification of all eye conditions is very complete and they take great care to listen and follow up on your comments. In short, it is the best experience I have had in this class of ophthalmology services. (Original) Toda la experiencia es extremadamente positiva. El personal exhibe un trato al cliente excepcional. La verificación del oftalmólogo de todas las condiciones de los ojos es bien completa y se esmeran en oír y dar seguimiento a tus comentarios. Resumiendo es la mejor experiencia que he tenido en esta clase de servicios de oftalmologia More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 11, 2021

My vision correction is experience at the Chu Vision Institute couldn’t have been better. Though their pre screen process Dr. Chu and his staff take extreme care to ensure you and your eyes are a good fit for laser correction surgery. Once it is was determined that LASIK was the best option for me, Dr. Chu’s awesome staff was on point getting me ready for my procedure. Dr. Chu even did a video call with me a couple of days before the procedure to answer any additional questions I had and to describe the procedure itself. The day after my LASIK procedure I was seeing 20/15 in both eyes !! The only regret I have is that I waited so long to get my eyes fixed. The Chu Vision Institute gave me my vision back and I am super grateful! Thank you all for taking such good care of me and my eyes. Best, Todd- More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 21, 2021

Dr. Chu was absolutely wonderful explaining every step of my lasik procedure. He was fantastic in answering all of my questions before, during and after the procedure. More

5.0
Review from B.J.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Sep 15, 2021

This staff is absolutely amazing!!! They talk to you as a human and take the time to explain what they are going to do. They spend time answering questions and concerns. Dr. Chu and his team…I honestly couldn’t have asked for more. They genuinely care, and you can hear it in their voice. I was nervous, and as an adult male that can be….belittling, but they were amazing! They actually pumped up my confidence. I will never go any other place. I plan on scheduling all my appointments with them. Give them a chance, they will not disappoint. I heard it in the waiting room, everyone was happy and appreciative. Thank you all for making my life better!!! More

5.0
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 24, 2021

Dr. Chu has created an environment for his employees to thrive. By continually being a role model and exercising positive word choice, it is evident that he and his staff are genuinely excited and happy for the outcomes of their patients. I have been in eye care for 15 years and would be honored to be a team member in an office like Chu Vision. I could not recommend a better institution to have lasik at- in fact, I have told multiple patients of mine that I would not go anywhere else and would not trust anyone but Dr. Chu with my eyes. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 23, 2021

My experience with everyone at Chu Vision (cataract removal and lens implant) was nothing less than the absolute best care that I've had in a very long time, so professional, friendly and caring! My eyesight has not been this good in ages and it practically happened over night. Dr. Chu and his team are the best!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 07, 2021

DISSAPOINTED  but GRATEFUL FOR HONESTYI went in for a consultation and was told I should wait a couple more years before having corrective surgery because there are some procedures/products on the horizon that would be a good fit for me if I just wait.  Way to go Chu Vision!  They are in this for the long haul and want happy customers!!  I’ll be back when the time is right!!! More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jun 24, 2021

The best medical experience so far. Everyone was super friendly and patient. Thank you for an awesome experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 04, 2021

Today after years of waiting to get LASIK I took the leap. Terrified as I was, all of the wonderful staff was amazing and kind. Dr. Chu talked me through the whole procedure, which is honestly an outstanding experience. I could not recommend Chu Vision Institute any higher! Perfect 10 :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 20, 2020

Bare with my lengthy review but if you’re like me, I wanted to know what others true thoughts were and I scoured as many reviews as possible to make sure I was making the best decision for me and my eyes. I am SO, SO thankful for Dr. Chu and Dr. Heckman’s expertise and honesty. I decided it was time to get Lasik and went in for my consultation. From check-in to my latest follow up, everyone at the Chu Vision Institute was friendly, warm, and helpful. Due to some past corneal scarring, Dr. Chu recommended that I get Lasik on one eye and PRK (ASA) on the other. I was extremely nervous about PRK because of the slightly longer recovery time and I really just wanted to wake up and have 20/20 vision like my friends who have had Lasik. The day of my procedure, they made sure I had all my questions and concerns answered before they let me in to have my surgery. That was extremely comforting to me and Dr. Heckman explained why PRK was recommended over Lasik. Simply put, I wouldn’t have had a good outcome if Dr. Chu had performed Lasik on both eyes. Both procedures went well and Dr. Chu confirmed his right decision during the procedure which took all of maybe 10 minutes for both eyes. As instructed, I went home and rested and could literally see 20/20 the next day with my Lasik eye. The PRK eye takes a little longer to heal but can already see better! (I was worried my blurry eye would affect my vision, but it did not). Recovery has been great and will continue to get better in the next few weeks. Now my husband wants to get his eyes done. Chu Vision Institute has exceeded my expectations and I am very happy with my results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.Z.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 19, 2019

I've know/worked with Dr. Chu for almost 20 years and his knowledge and ability is among the top in the field. He has an incredible staff that help patients feel comfortable during times when most are anxious. I have referred several very good friends and family to him for surgery and all have had remarkable outcomes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 30, 2019

This place is Amazing! I had the SMILE procedure one month ago, and as of now I have excellent vision (20/20 or better), no symptoms besides some minor haloing at night. Pre surgery: during my pre op exam, it took a bit of time due to the amount of testing. During the exam the staff was incredibly friendly and would tell me about each test and why they were doing them. This gave me confidence that they were going to get things right. They wanted to make sure I would get the best results by ensuring the measurements were accurate. The exam is free if you go forward with surgery, otherwise it's a minor cost. They answered all my questions and were very upfront with cost and what would be covered for me. They also required a short quiz making sure I knew all the risks, what to expect post surgery, and to make sure I understood everything about the procedure. Surgery time: The procedure was very fast; as Dr. Chu was performing the surgery he would walk me through what was going to happen next and what I would experience. I felt very cared for during the entire experience. Post surgery: prior to going home, they gave me a very informative packet on care and a number to call should any problems arise. After the surgery, I went home and took a nap. Two hours after the surgery I could see, and it felt like there was something small in my eye. No pain, just a minor annoyance. The next day I had 20/20 vision, no pain or annoyance, and no glasses or contacts! I have had no complications or any issues since. Follow up exams: all of my follow up exams were quick and easy. They checked my eyes, my vision asked if I had any questions or concerns, and sent me on my way. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Price: the price for the procedure here was slightly higher than some of their competitors, but not enough for me to reconsider. None of the competitors offered SMILE and didn't have as great of reviews. I decided to check out Chu Vision due to the high ratings. To me, the slight increase in cost was worth it going here knowing I'd be taken care of and that I'd be getting cutting edge surgery with new equipment. Of course, since it's my eyes I'm dealing with, I want to make sure it's a place I can trust. I highly recommend Dr. Chu and the SMILE procedure. There is no reason to do Lasik if you are Eligible for SMILE. Thank you Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2018

I cannot overstate how impressed I am with Dr. Chu and his staff. Everyone, from his receptionists and coordinators to his nurses and doctors were warm, polite, knowledgeable, and truly excited for me to go on my laser eye surgery journey. The entire testing process was extremely thorough, leaving no stone unturned to make sure that the best surgery option for my situation was selected. Once in the surgery studio, in the span of less than ten minutes, I went from being horrendously nearsighted to 20-30 vision, with 20-20 vision to come in the next couple weeks. I wholeheartedly recommend Chu Vision Institute to any and everyone who is considering laser eye surgery. Dr. Chu is a leader in his field for good reason; I could think of no one better suited to change your life as he did mine. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from N.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 13, 2017

Overall, at 6 months post-op. First, the staff is amazing and always had my best interests at heart. For my original consultation, I was advised about my lens replacement. I was also told that maybe 10% of patients need further enhancements following the initial procedures. I wished they would have told me I was most likely the in that 10% since I was so near sighted. Lens replacement in January, followed by 3 months of contacts before having a LAG procedure and then LASIK. I was frustrated it took so many months. BUT, I am so thrilled today with my perfect vision. No glasses or contacts. Clear and crisp Vision. I would highly recommend Chu Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2015

As an active professional I needed the flexibility in their services and the high touch care the Chu Vision Institute offers. I relied on the staffs knowledge of the procedure (PRK) and went to the best in the Midwest. Dr. Chu's experience and advise really outlined the differentiators of eye care which in today's world can be confusing. I knew I wanted to get rid of my contacts and glasses, but wanted the right procedure done by the right person - as you only have one set of eyes! Thank you Team Chu, I now have 20/20 vision and can enjoy life in a much more fulfilling way. More

4.7
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 28, 2007

Dr. Y. Ralph Chu did my Lasik surgery nearly a decade ago now. My husband did all the research, and this guy was the leader of the pack. He was knowledgeable, personable, and made me feel at ease. These years later, I would recommend him-- and the procedure-- to anyone considering it. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.