PATIENT REVIEWS

Reviews for Bloomington, MN Dr. Hosam Hassan Hosam Hassan, O.D.

Patient Feedback

Having clear vision allows people of all ages to enjoy and experience life in special ways. When it comes to the health of your eyes, you should put your trust in only the best. At Chu Vision Institute in Bloomington, MN, we take the utmost care and compassion to enhance the quality of your vision and overall wellness. Dr. Ralph Chu and his team perform a number of comprehensive services to address a wide range of concerns, from common to complex. Below, we have compiled a list of reviews from patients just like you who trust our team with the health of their eyes.

Filter16 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from N.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2022

Where to even begin. I had been eagerly anticipating laser vision correction for at least 5 years but life continued to get in the way. I finally was in a position to move forward and found Dr. Chu and his practice upon moving to MN. I honestly do not have the words to express how thoroughly satisfied I am and continue to be with the entire experience. From the initial evaluation to the expert guidance, seamless follow up appointments, excellent communication, wonderful and friendly staff, truly knowledgeable physicians and providers who take the time to answer your questions, I could not be more pleased. I had initially wanted to have SMILE performed but, through the counsel of Drs. Heckman and Chu, underwent ASA with phenomenal results (and the vision continues to sharpen daily which is such an amazing thing to experience). Dr. Chu was able to take my vision from 20/500 (mostly from extremely severe astigmatism with coincident myopia) to 20/20. Most importantly, I was seeing 20/30 in my right eye the day following surgery and 20/20 by the 3-day follow up. At the risk of making this review too lengthy, I have to pay my respect not only to Dr. Chu's practice but to all the individuals who work there. From Dr. Hassan to Dr. Hampton, surgical intake nurses and all the techs, they legitimately made me feel like family. More than that, the work performed at this facility is second to none. I have already referred several colleagues for vision correction at Chu Vision. To top it off, Dr. Chu is honestly a stand up guy with some pretty amazing extracurriculars :) To anyone I may have missed, THANK YOU! Genuinely changing lives for the better. TL;DR - If you care about your eyes and want high-quality, complete care, look no further than Chu Vision. You will not be disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 03, 2022

Can't speak highly enough about the results and experience I had with Dr. Chu and his team. After a Lasik procedure I have 20/20 vision. I was obviously a little concerned about having someone mess around with my eyeball with a laser... but the whole team at Chu Vision made me feel comfortable with the procedure and recovery and ensured I felt supported at every step. The procedure was a breeze - Dr. Chu has a great bedside manner and made me feel comfortable I was in good hands. Recovery was straightforward and it's now a full month that I've had great vision and not had to worry about corrective lenses. If you're considering refractive surgery with Chu, do it. My only regret is that I didn't do this sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 19, 2022

From beginning to end, I felt cared for and valued. I was confident I was in good hands. Dr. Chu put me at ease. I'm thrilled I can see!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2022

Experience was very good. Very efficient and so friendly. Made the surgery process very understandable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 11, 2022

I cannot thank Dr Chu and his team enough. I had cataract surgery on both eyes. I was expecting to have better vision (wearing readers) but never expected 20/20 vision an 20/16 vision at intermediate distances. I have never seen this good my whole life. I have never experienced colors like I have now. Thank you all so much everyday I am amazed at what I can see. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 01, 2022

It was such a great experience and the staff there was so kind!! After my surgery I could see instantly and over the weeks it only got better! Such a life changer for me and I’ve notice how I’m more active and social than before. From -15 to 20/20 is such a blessing and I just thank God. Also, I am so grateful for chu vision and the care they took with me. They truly care about your end result and satisfaction, rather than a quick buck. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 28, 2022

In September I had cataract surgery with a trifocal lens replacement. Before surgery my vision was so limited without my glasses. I couldn’t see to read or sew. My distance vision was so bad that I even had to wear my glasses to curl my hair. The first night after surgery I could the words on the TV screen with no glasses. By the end of the first week I was sewing with no glasses. It’s been 6 weeks now since surgery and it’s truly amazing! It’s been so life changing. Besides the unbelievable change in my vision, I’d also like to share how amazing the whole staff is here!! The whole procedure was just so easy. It was all so extremely organized. Everybody was beyond kind and helpful and so positive. The procedure itself was so fast. I never felt any pain. I felt so comfortable and relaxed the whole time. Having this procedure was the best decision I’ve ever made!! I highly recommend the Chu Vision Institute!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 21, 2022

After a consultation, it was suggested lens replacement surgery would be a good option for me. Having never gone through surgery before (and never having anesthesia), you can imagine I was pretty nervous. Dr. Chu and his staff were so wonderful to me throughout the entire process. They really took the time to get to know me. They even discovered I’m a huge David Bowie fan, and they played “Let’s Dance” (a favorite) as they wheeled me into the operating room for eye surgery #1! ⚡️ Fast forward: Excellent post-op appt. with Chu Vision Institute after eye surgery #2. Confirmed both eyes are at 20/25 (and that’s without any adjustments)! Still need readers, but I don’t mind. Healing well already. I commented to my husband, John, on our drive to Bloomington that it was the first time in 10 years that I’ve been able to clearly read all of the freeway signs. Miraculous. Best thing I’ve ever done. Thanks so, so much! 💜 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 20, 2022

After a consultation, it was suggested lens replacement surgery would be a good option for me. Having never gone through surgery before (and never having anesthesia), you can imagine I was pretty nervous. Dr. Chu and his staff were so wonderful to me throughout the entire process. They really took the time to get to know me. They even discovered I’m a huge David Bowie fan, and they played “Let’s Dance” (a favorite) as they wheeled me into the operating room for eye surgery #1! Fast forward: Excellent post-op appt. with Chu Vision Institute after eye surgery #2. Confirmed both eyes are at 20/25 (and that’s without any adjustments)! Still need readers, but I don’t mind. Healing well already. I commented to my husband, John, on our drive to Bloomington that it was the first time in 10 years that I’ve been able to clearly read all of the freeway signs. Miraculous. Best thing I’ve ever done. Thanks so, so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 02, 2022

In 2014 I had my right eye cataract remove. It was not a happy experience. Several years later I knew I would need to have my left eye done. Sept 21, 2022 I had it removed. This was such a different experience. At Chu Vision Institute I am a live person, not just a body going through an assembly line. Chu Clinic makes sure they know your eyes. They do multitude of tests, ask questions so they know which lens you need.i am very happy with my experience with Dr Chu. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 26, 2022

Everyone is friendly, professional, and informative. Chu Vision is a wonderful place. I’ve gone there for many years and always a good experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 16, 2022

Dr. Chu and I go back to the year 2000, when Chu Vision's beginnings consisted of a small office at 77th and France. I had attended Dr. Chu's seminar on lens implant surgery. At the time, he had performed less than a hundred implants. I instantly recognized his extensive knowledge and dedication, and the implant surgery was a great success. Over the years, his practice grew into the impressive Chu Vision Institute, where he excels in eye care and corrective surgery. I have since frequented Chu Vision Institute for yearly exams and for correcting troubling eye problems. I have seen Jessica Hackman, Erin Carlson, and recently Hosam Hassan. Each doctor has impressive skills. Doctor Hassan has helped resolve troubling eye issues twice in recent months. He is kind, confident and knowledgeable, and performed the necessary treatment quickly and successfully. He is certainly a credit to the Chu Vision team. Sight is a precious gift, and there is none better to trust your vision to than Dr. Chu and his dedicated team of ophthalmologists. More

5.0
Review from P.K.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 02, 2022

I cannot express enough how easy and convenient my cataract surgery appts were. Top notch people all around. The place runs like a well oiled machine❣️ Thank you Dr Chu & Dr Heckman and ALL More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 02, 2022

I went in to have my eyes looked at for cataracts at 67 years old , my experience with Chu vision was amazing , EVERY person I met there took care of me in a personal way. I went through a lot of testing but they made the time go fast as they explained what was next . Before surgery through the blur of cataracts I had hard time driving at night , colors were tuff too ( I had no idea I was that blind ) lol Today I can tell you , I no longer need glasses for reading or long distance , I cannot remember ever seeing this well . For what ever its worth I got the (Restor 3 Lens) amazing clarity, not sure if they work for everyone but I am sure Dr Chu and his staff will give you the best for your situation . I don't often write a review but I am so excited about my new lenes I just had to share my experience Dr Heckman and Dr Hassen say people come back for the check ups come in very happy with their new vision like me ( fun job for them :) Normally you go to the doctor to get back to normal , here I got clearer and sharper vison , I tell everyone I meet how lucky I am to get this very sharp vison ,, I am sure everyone is tired of me talking about how excited I am being able to see this well . I want to thank you Dr Chu and of course all your staff that really made my life happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.V.  |  Source: Google  |  May 02, 2022

(Translated by Google) The whole experience is extremely positive. The staff exhibit exceptional customer service. The ophthalmologist's verification of all eye conditions is very complete and they take great care to listen and follow up on your comments. In short, it is the best experience I have had in this class of ophthalmology services. (Original) Toda la experiencia es extremadamente positiva. El personal exhibe un trato al cliente excepcional. La verificación del oftalmólogo de todas las condiciones de los ojos es bien completa y se esmeran en oír y dar seguimiento a tus comentarios. Resumiendo es la mejor experiencia que he tenido en esta clase de servicios de oftalmologia More

4.0
DAPI
Review from N.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 13, 2017

Overall, at 6 months post-op. First, the staff is amazing and always had my best interests at heart. For my original consultation, I was advised about my lens replacement. I was also told that maybe 10% of patients need further enhancements following the initial procedures. I wished they would have told me I was most likely the in that 10% since I was so near sighted. Lens replacement in January, followed by 3 months of contacts before having a LAG procedure and then LASIK. I was frustrated it took so many months. BUT, I am so thrilled today with my perfect vision. No glasses or contacts. Clear and crisp Vision. I would highly recommend Chu Vision! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.